SmartKlean Laundry Ball Review: Is it Really all it Claims?

We are continually looking for ways to reduce our affect on the environment while also reducing our environment’s effects on us.   I try to be aware of the hundreds of chemicals and toxins we are exposed to on a daily basis and by their very use are introduced into our eco-system.  While keeping a watchful eye for products that do just that, we found the SmartKlean Laundry Ball.

This non-detergent laundry ball uses ceramics found in nature to boost water’s ability to physically clean the dirt from your clothes, unlike your standard detergents, made from petrochemicals derived from crude oil, which mask clean and leave an unnaturally strong scent.

Pros:

  • It’s non-toxic and eco-friendly.  The ball is made from a safe and recyclable thermoplastic (no PVC!). The Ceramics contained inside are fully bio-degradable at the end of use.  Choosing not to use the traditional detergent means you are doing your part by reducing the thousands of pounds of chemicals and toxins being flushed into our fresh water supply.
  • Saves energy and money.  Since no detergent is used in wash cycle, no rinse cycles are needed. Set washer to a Pre-Soak cycle for shorter wash times.
  • Cost effective. Savings from use of less laundry detergent/booster far outweigh the cost of ball.
  • Low maintenance. A monthly sunbath to regenerate ceramic micro beads is all that is needed.
  • Works great, even on soiled cloth diapers!  With the addition of fine sea salt and vinegar, load after load of dirty cloth diapers came out clean.
  • Cleans washing machine. For months before receiving the laundry ball, our clothes were coming out of the washer with sporadic black lines.  Searching inside and out, we were left with tons of ruined clothes, wondering what was to blame.  Nothing worked for removing the cause of the staining but after only a few washes using the SmartKlean Laundry Ball, the black lines are gone.

Cons:

  • Best Results when washing small loads (18lbs or less). With a family of five, continual laundry is a must; small loads are out of the question.  It’s recommended to use two laundry balls in these circumstances.
  • Certain stains need a little more help. I used Ecover Stain Remover to loosen stubborn oil stains.
  • No scent. Although, I mainly prefer unscented products, I keep a bottle of essential oil for the loads that need a little extra attention.

Overall, we were overwhelmingly impressed with the results of the SmartKlean Laundry Ball and would recommend its use by anyone looking to make a healthy change for their family and the environment in the New Year.  Thanks to SmartKleanOhio for allowing us to give it a try.

,

24 Responses to SmartKlean Laundry Ball Review: Is it Really all it Claims?

  1. Kelly January 10, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Do you think this would give the same results in a HE front loader?

    • Alicia January 11, 2011 at 3:42 am #

      @Kelly and @Sommer – that’s a great question! We’ll pass it onto the manufacturer and see if we can get an answer for you.

    • Diane Smith June 29, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      Hi Kelly I have being using the laundry ball since Xmas last year in my front load HE washer and is pleased as punch. My clothes have a fresh smell ,but without the soap smell. My grandson is a line cook and doesn’t know the the apron is for dirty hands not the back of his pants and my daughter says his whites are nice and clean. Hope this answers you question.
      Diane

    • Diane July 9, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      The balls in front loaders HE work well…Di

  2. Anonymous January 11, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    I’m wondering the same as Kelly – we have an HE.

    • Richard A. Fountain January 13, 2011 at 2:20 am #

      Hello,

      To answer your question. The SmartKlean Non-Detergent Laundry Ball works great in HE Front-Loading Washing Machines, as well as ALL types of other top-loading and front-loading washing machines. The laundry ball also creates a dual agitation effect in both types of washing machines as well.
      If you have any other questions, please email me at rfountain1964@gmail.com

      Regards,

      Richard A. Fountain
      Eco-Product Specialist
      SmartKleanOhio
      http://www.smartkleanohio.com
      614.460.9360cell
      “Think GREEN, Live GREEN”

  3. Kelly January 13, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    Thanks Alicia. 🙂 I was actually just looking at their site and it says it does work for HE front loaders. I wanted to know too – with your cloth diapers, how did you add the salt and vinegar? Did you just add it into the wash? And how much? Thanks for your help – I’m really interested in this product because of your review but (as you know with cloth diapers), I do a LOT of laundry! Want to make sure I know all the ins and outs before investing. 🙂

    • Richard A. Fountain January 13, 2011 at 2:13 am #

      Hi Kelly,

      Hi Kelly,

      You just need to add 1/4 Cup of Fine Sea Salt, and a 1/4 Cup of White Vinegar to your wash load for the best results. You can find these products at your local grocery store. If you have any other questions, you can contact me personally at rfountain1964@gmail.com

      Regards,

      Richard A. Fountain
      Eco-Product Specialist
      SmartKleanOhio
      http://www.smartkleanohio.com
      614.460.9360cell
      “Think GREEN, Live GREEN”

  4. Kelly January 13, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    Oh – one more question – what kind of salt are we talking here? Thanks again SO much! 🙂

  5. Kelly January 13, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    Thank you Richard and Alicia!

  6. Richard A. Fountain January 13, 2011 at 4:13 am #

    Hi Kelly,

    Your welcome. If you have any other questions, please let me know. If you would like to purchase one or more laundry balls, please go to our http://www.smartkleanohio.com website and click on our “buy now” page.

    Thank you for your interest in the SmartKlean Non Detergent Laundry Ball.

    Have a good evening.

  7. Sara February 21, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    What kind of essential oil do you add when the clothes need freshening up?

  8. Tay March 14, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Does anyone have any experience on how long they last? Do they eventually wear out?

    Sara, try adding a touch of lavender oil to freshen up clothes.

  9. essential oils June 22, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    Before using essential oils, it is better to know about their effect and how
    they work. The oils are extracted from different plant parts like twigs,
    flowers, bark and leaves and also rind of fruits. For instance, in sandalwood
    it is extracted from wood, in basil from the leaves, in roses from the flowers,
    etc.
     

  10. essential oils June 22, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    Pure
    essential oils are harmless to use and they are multifaceted as well. The oils
    have nature’s  freshness and essence which can
    leave mesmerizing effect on us. Dependence on the essential oils have now
    increased to quiet great extent due the benedictions associated with them.
     

  11. essential oils June 22, 2011 at 3:50 am #

    Pure
    essential oils are harmless to use and they are multifaceted as well. The oils
    have nature’s  freshness and essence which can
    leave mesmerizing effect on us. Dependence on the essential oils have now
    increased to quiet great extent due the benedictions associated with them.
     

  12. essential oils June 22, 2011 at 3:56 am #

    “Essential oils” are used for their aroma. They are called
    “essential oils” because they carry the distinctive scent, or
    essence, of the plant. These oils are used in perfume and aromatherapy.
    Examples are oil of cloves, frankincense, lavender, sandalwood and chamomile.
     

  13. KJOY July 9, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    For washing cloth diapers, do you still do a cold pre rinse, hot wash, and an extra rinse?  I’ve been doing my cold rinse, hot wash, and extra cold rinse just to make sure it’s all clean but it seems that since the ball is cleaning with each cycle and there’s no residue, I shouldn’t have to do as many rinses… or use the hot water.  

    • Diane July 9, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      I don’t think you need to dothe extra wash, I would try once and then you would know for sure. Try  and let me know…Di

  14. not happy September 13, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    used it and not happy. My clothes were not clean, and the dirty marks, eg. socks, did not come out. But, am more unhappy with the company itself. The ball was bought at a home show, and was assured that there was 100% return at ANY time, as they were so sure of their product. When I contacted the company for a return, was told only within 14 days, and I asked what happened to the “at any time” claim, and was told their policy was posted. (which was not referred to at any time during the sale), so they were covered. The ball is in like new condition, and hadn’t been used numerous times, only tried twice.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention SmartKlean Laundry Ball Review: Is it Really all it Claims? | The Soft Landing Blog -- Topsy.com - January 10, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Alicia Voorhies. Alicia Voorhies said: New blog: SmartKlean Laundry Ball Review: Is it Really all it Claims? http://bit.ly/dPICwg #greencleaning […]

  2. 66% Off Laundry Services » Get your daily Groupon deals - January 24, 2011

    […] SmartKlean Laundry Ball Review: Is it Really all it Claims? […]

  3. SmartKlean Laundry Ball is Excellent for Baby Laundry « Smartklean’s Blog - March 4, 2011

    […] “Works great, even on soiled cloth diapers!  With the addition of fine sea salt and vinegar, load after load of dirty cloth diapers came out clean.” – The Soft Landing Baby Blog. (Full product review) […]

  4. Ditch The Detergent with a SmartKlean Laundry Ball {Review & Giveaway} - Nature's Nurture : Nature's Nurture - November 28, 2012

    […] with the laundry ball. Reviews of using SmartKlean laundry ball with cloth diapers can be found here and […]

Leave a comment

Designed by Alicia Voorhies

10 Shares
Share
Pin
Yum
Stumble
Tweet